IPAA Queensland Inc is a not-for-profit, member-based association incorporated under the Associations Incorporation Act 1981 (Qld). Our Association Model Rules (the Rules) set out IPAA Queensland’s governance arrangements. The principal governing body is the Council whose members are elected by members of the association.

The functions and powers of the Council are set out in Clause 21 of the Rules and are broadly defined as having the general control and management of the administration of the affairs, property and funds of IPAA Queensland. Overall, the Council provides strategic direction and oversight of activities and reports annually to association members on IPAA Queensland’s performance. They also serve as active champions of the association and its value proposition.

Council members, who must be individual members of the association, are elected by the association’s members for a two-year term but are eligible to re-nominate for another term. Council also includes three office bearers – President, Secretary and Treasurer.

Current members of the IPAA Queensland Council were elected for the period 1 July 2022 through 30 June 2024.

Collectively, the Council bring a diverse range of capabilities, experience, perspective and networks, and represents the multifaceted nature of the public purpose community.

Meet our Council.


Deidre Mulkerin IPAA Queensland President

Deidre MulkerinPresident, Director-General, Department of Child Safety, Seniors and Disability Services.

Deidre Mulkerin is the Director-General of the Department of Children, Youth Justice and Multicultural Affairs (DCYJMA), a role she has held since February 2020.

Prior to taking up this role Deidre has had extensive experience in the child protection and juvenile justice sectors. Earlier in her career Deidre worked in frontline roles in these areas and managed regional operations across human services.

Supporting a diverse and inclusive workforce and community is also something Deidre has committed to throughout her career, acknowledging the importance of hearing and understanding the needs and experiences of people from different cultures and backgrounds.

Deidre had dedicated her career to making a difference for children, young people and families, and continues to show her commitment to this in her role as DG. Deidre has a clear passion for ensuring that the voices of young people are heard and also remains focused on walking alongside our First Nations partners and communities to give the space for true partnership in decision-making.

Neil Scales IPAA Queensland Treasurer

Neil ScalesTreasurer and former
Director-General, Department of Transport and Main Roads (retired).

View bio

Tanya Hornick, Strategic Partnership Manager (Queensland), Australian Bureau of Statistics

Tanya HornickSecretary and Vice-President, Strategic Partnership Manager (Queensland), Australian Bureau of Statistics

View bio

David MackiePublic Sector Commissioner, Public Sector Commission

View bio

Graham Fraine Director-General, Department of State Development and Infrastructure

View bio

Mark Le Dieu, Group Manager (Community Grants Hub), Department of Social Services

Mark Le DieuGroup Manager (Community Grants Hub), Department of Social Services

View bio

Ashley Marshall, General Manager Government (Business, Government and International), Australia Post

Ashley MarshallClient Manager, Public Sector, Federal Government, NTT

View bio

Angela Massy, Head, (Strategy, Innovation and Connection), Suncare Community Services Ltd

Angela Massy

Director of Corporate Services, Strive Community Care

View bio

Dr Scott Prasser, Public Policy Consultant and Commentator

Dr Scott PrasserPublic Policy Consultant and Commentator

View bio

Prof Tim Reddel, Group Leader (Social Solutions), Institute for Social Science Research, University of Queensland

Prof Tim ReddelGroup Leader (Social Solutions), Institute for Social Science Research, University of Queensland

View bio

Former Presidents

Ian Stewart AO (2020-22)

Robert Setter, Chief Executive, Public Service Commission

Robert Setter (2017-2019)